Casino News

EGR Announces Awards Shortlist

By: Shirley Spicer, Thursday October 21st 2010
0 Comments   Email   Print

The panel of judges has screened the entries for the sixth EGR Awards and has announced the shortlist of nominations. This process involved an online judging system. Sometime later the judges will meet and discuss and then come up with the winners in each category. The EGR Awards honor online gaming operators across all product types. And therefore it is the multi product operators who have secured the most nominations. has 12 nominations, William Hill Online has 11 nominations, PartyGaming has 9 nominations and Betfair has 7 nominations.

The online casino industry will be watching the categories relevant in its case. The most prestigious of these is the casino operator of the year. The main contenders are, Bet365, PartyGaming and William Hill Online. was the winner last year. In the nominations is a name that is of special interest, that of 32Red. This Microgaming powered online casino operator recently won the Casinomeister Casino of the Decade award. Some awards categories go beyond the traditional domain of online gaming and the outcomes of these are also eagerly awaited. One such category is socially responsible operator of the year. Last year's winner was Betsson. Two contenders that are not hot favorites but have done good work in this arena are Microgaming powered Ladbrokes Casino and WagerWorks powered Virgin Casino. Social networking operator of the year is a new category and the main contenders are Betfair and PartyGaming. Another change made this year is in the more traditional domain. Slots have been the driving force of the online casino industry and they have been given due recognition with the slots operator of the year award. The operators who have been nominated are, Genting Alderney, PartyGaming, Unibet and William Hill Online.

The most popular and prestigious award of all is the operator of the year. This is given to the online gaming operator who performs best over all the products. Last year this award was won by Bwin. Unfortunately Bwin does not figure in the nominations this year. This shows how fast things are changing in the industry. The 2010 nominees are, Bet365, Betfair, Betsson, Gamesys, PartyGaming, Unibet and William Hill Online. Four new categories for the affiliates were added later and the last date for submission of entries is October 26. The nominations for these would be announced later. These categories are gaming community site of the year, gaming review site of the year, gaming comparison site of the year and innovative gaming site of the year. The EGR Awards 2010 ceremony will take place at The Artillery Garden at The HAC in central London on November 24.

News Item Tools

 Email     Print     Digg    StumbleUpon


 Add Comment

Add Comment

You must be signed-in to add a comment: - Sign-in - Register

More News

Maldives Holiday At Roxy Palace
Winter Slots Wonderland At Golden Palace
Playtech Launches Innovative Galactic Streak Online Slot
Two Big Announcements From Microgaming
Latest Welcome Bonuses At Fortune Lounge Casinos

News Categories
RSS & XML Feeds
Subscribe to our News Feed Below:
Top 10 Ranked Online Casinos
Casino Name    
Jackpot City
 Read Jackpot City Casino Review
 Read EuroPalace Casino Review
Roxy Palace
 Read Roxy Palace Casino Review
All Slots
 Read All Slots Casino Review
Platinum Play
 Read Platinum Play Casino Review
Royal Vegas
 Read Royal Vegas Casino Review
Gaming Club
 Read Gaming Club Casino Review
Ruby Fortune
 Read Ruby Fortune Casino Review
Spin Casino
 Read Spin Casino Review
Casino Splendido
 Read Casino Splendido Review

More Top Rated Online Casinos

Search our site

Casino Bonuses

Game Information

General Information