Casino News

The eGaming Awards 2008

By: Rick Balding, Thursday August 28th 2008
0 Comments   Email   Print

Every industry recognizes the achievements of its peers through awards and honors given to the best within it. This not only fosters a spirit of healthy competition but also becomes an occasion for collective celebration. The same is true of the online gaming industry.

One of the most looked forward awards in the online gaming industry are the eGaming Awards. Awarded annually for excellence in various aspects of the online gaming industry the fourth set of awards will be given in September 2008. These awards are sponsored by the eGaming Review magazine, which is one of the leading publications aimed at providing business-to-business information for the online gaming market.

The magazine concentrates on the major issues and challenges that the online gaming industry is facing, including payment processing, legal issues, marketing and affiliate programs, regulation and technology. Its objective is to provide both breaking news and considered analysis on this subject.

The 2007 eGaming Awards were held in September 2007 at the Natural History Museum in London. Awards were given in 16 categories. Sky Bet, Everest Poker and 888 Casino won two awards each. In the major award categories Casino Operator of the Year was won by 888 Casino, Poker Operator of the Year was won by Everest Poker and Operator of the Year was won by Betfair.

The eGaming Awards 2008, scheduled for the 19th September, are being planned on the biggest scale yet. The venue has been shifted to the Great Room at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane in London. New categories of awards have been added to reflect the growing spread of online gaming, both technologically and geographically. Asia has been identified as "one of the most challenging and potentially lucrative markets" for the online gaming industry and hence it was natural to introduce an award of Asian Operator of the Year. Gambling now takes place over several platforms and eGaming Review has decided to honor the e-gaming operator that provides its products across all the main platforms of Internet, mobile, TV and land based in an original and well-defined way through the Multi Channel Operator of the Year.

The short lists for most of the categories are already available at the eGaming Review web site. The most sought after award is undoubtedly Operator of the Year. This award has been sponsored by Microgaming this year. The award will be given to the operator that has set the standards for others to follow during the period August 2007 to July 2008. The judges will be looking for an operator that has differentiated itself from the pack. The short listed operators include 888, Betfair, Bwin, Ladbrokes and Party Gaming.

News Item Tools

 Email     Print     Digg    StumbleUpon


 Add Comment

Add Comment

You must be signed-in to add a comment: - Sign-in - Register

More News

Maldives Holiday At Roxy Palace
Winter Slots Wonderland At Golden Palace
Playtech Launches Innovative Galactic Streak Online Slot
Two Big Announcements From Microgaming
Latest Welcome Bonuses At Fortune Lounge Casinos

News Categories
RSS & XML Feeds
Subscribe to our News Feed Below:
Top 10 Ranked Online Casinos
Casino Name    
Jackpot City
 Read Jackpot City Casino Review
 Read EuroPalace Casino Review
Roxy Palace
 Read Roxy Palace Casino Review
All Slots
 Read All Slots Casino Review
Platinum Play
 Read Platinum Play Casino Review
Royal Vegas
 Read Royal Vegas Casino Review
Gaming Club
 Read Gaming Club Casino Review
Ruby Fortune
 Read Ruby Fortune Casino Review
Spin Casino
 Read Spin Casino Review
Casino Splendido
 Read Casino Splendido Review

More Top Rated Online Casinos

Search our site

Casino Bonuses

Game Information

General Information