Casino News

eCOGRA Shines at EGR Awards

By: Joe Valentino, Wednesday December 2nd 2009
1 Comment   Email   Print

The annual awards of the eGaming Review Magazine, popularly known as EGR Awards, were the first awards for the online gaming industry for the performance in 2009. The awards were presented in a glittering function that had more than 900 guests in London's Old Billingsgate Market on November 30. eCOGRA stole the thunder without winning a single award because four online gaming operators certified by it won major awards.

Of these four, the Vienna based Bwin Interactive AG won the most coveted award of all, which was for the Operator of the Year. Bwin showed excellence across the board of online gaming products in order to pip the other nominees to the post. 888 won the Casino Operator of the Year. PartyGaming won the Poker Operator of the Year through is online poker portal PartyPoker. Unibet, which has a strong presence in Europe, won two awards. One award was for the European Sports Operator of the Year and the other for the European Live Gaming Operator of the Year.

All four operators are holders of the eCOGRA "Safe & Fair" seal, which is awarded by eCOGRA to online gaming operators that have successfully met the requirements of its rigorous audit. The benchmarks to which the audit is conducted and the systems and controls that are put in place during the audit enhance the performance of the online gaming operator. Otherwise eCOGRA certified online gaming operators would not have achieved such resounding success at the EGR Awards.

Andrew Beveridge, the chief executive officer at eCOGRA, congratulated the winners. He said, "We're very proud to be associated with these well managed operations, which have once again proved that a sincere commitment to integrity and professionalism is good for the players, good for business and good for the industry."

Some of the other winners at the 2009 EGR Awards were as follows. Cashcade was the Bingo Operator of the Year. The award for the Mobile Gaming Operator of the Year went to Probability. The Innovation of the Year was won by Gamesys and the Rising Star of the Year was Poker Heaven of the Gaming Media Group. The Socially Responsible Operator of the Year was Betsson. Ladbrokes was the most nominated online gaming operator. However it failed to win any awards. Incidentally Ladbrokes Casino is eCOGRA certified.

eCOGRA stands for e-Commerce Online Gaming Regulation and Assurance. It certifies online gaming operators, which include casinos, poker rooms, bingo halls and sports books. It also certifies online gaming software providers and affiliate programs.

News Item Tools

 Email     Print     Digg    StumbleUpon


 Add Comment
Comment by: casinowizard On: December 04, 2009
That's good news I suppose! eCOGRA has become a very reputable force in the gaming industry and things like this just further back their credibility which is great!

Add Comment

You must be signed-in to add a comment: - Sign-in - Register

More News

Maldives Holiday At Roxy Palace
Winter Slots Wonderland At Golden Palace
Playtech Launches Innovative Galactic Streak Online Slot
Two Big Announcements From Microgaming
Latest Welcome Bonuses At Fortune Lounge Casinos

News Categories
RSS & XML Feeds
Subscribe to our News Feed Below:
Top 10 Ranked Online Casinos
Casino Name    
Jackpot City
 Read Jackpot City Casino Review
 Read EuroPalace Casino Review
Roxy Palace
 Read Roxy Palace Casino Review
All Slots
 Read All Slots Casino Review
Platinum Play
 Read Platinum Play Casino Review
Royal Vegas
 Read Royal Vegas Casino Review
Gaming Club
 Read Gaming Club Casino Review
Ruby Fortune
 Read Ruby Fortune Casino Review
Spin Casino
 Read Spin Casino Review
Casino Splendido
 Read Casino Splendido Review

More Top Rated Online Casinos

Search our site

Casino Bonuses

Game Information

General Information